User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    brompton lake quebec canada
    Posts
    317
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question remooving low speed/high speed spark advence module

    Hello guys! I want to now if i can remove this module (93772a3) off my 87 200 mariner (oa981124). If so, what is the correct way to do it and what about the timing.

    Thanks alot! Martin.
    CHECKMATE ENTICER 16.5
    2.4 200+ FISHIN MOTOR

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Dunlap,TN.
    Posts
    3,157
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    59
    Likes (Given)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    192
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    I would remove it...

    I don't like them either and I don't think you will find many who do. Just simply remove it and set timing to specs on pick up and on max. You can fudge a little on pick up to make it idle smoother and to be more stable. That is what the stabilze did. If it fall below 500 rpm it would begin to advance the timing to compensate for it. I am surprized that no one else answered. If it is a idle and high speed it will be a 4 wire. Just idle stabilzer it will be three. Hope this helps you.
    James Perry

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    HUDSON, FLORIDA
    Posts
    486
    Thanks (Given)
    15
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Given)
    53
    Likes (Received)
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jmr112 View Post
    Hello guys! I want to now if i can remove this module (93772a3) off my 87 200 mariner (oa981124). If so, what is the correct way to do it and what about the timing.

    Thanks alot! Martin.
    i h ave a 87 220 mariner mag my mech wont remove it . says to leave it and tune it by the book yeah right the thing still wont
    run right its idling on 6 but sounds on plan-off drops 1 im almost 1000 rpm short on top end,,, used to turn 6000

    # ob211002so
    Last edited by Magcat 62; 12-13-2016 at 09:07 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    TX......somewhere?
    Posts
    5,629
    Thanks (Given)
    3
    Thanks (Received)
    193
    Likes (Given)
    89
    Likes (Received)
    575
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this answer is being moved to Magcat 62's other post...
    Last edited by tlwjkw; 11-19-2016 at 04:58 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    FT WORTH, TEXAS
    Posts
    7,940
    Thanks (Given)
    9
    Thanks (Received)
    132
    Likes (Given)
    232
    Likes (Received)
    454
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    id throw the mechanic away ,i took these off for all kinds of problems they create like retarding the timing because its old school stuff and broke, static timing it all you need remove oiler and mix gas and oil andall the crap it take to run this stuff ive done it on every rebuild i do period much better all around

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    aalsmeer
    Posts
    946
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    it advances the timing by grounding the bias connection of you switch box with a certain value
    if for any reason this circuit shorts completely it over advances the engine
    i will let you decide if you want to continue this russian roulette!
    page 31 to 32
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails MERCURY__2.4L__2.5L__3.0L_V6_EFI_Tehnicheskoe_ustroystvo_dvigateley(1).pdf  
    Last edited by PanRonnie; 11-18-2016 at 05:45 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    367
    Thanks (Given)
    11
    Thanks (Received)
    18
    Likes (Given)
    80
    Likes (Received)
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I took idle stabilizer off my 1995 merc 135.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    The Oldest City
    Posts
    398
    Thanks (Given)
    189
    Thanks (Received)
    16
    Likes (Given)
    1970
    Likes (Received)
    73
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Idle stabilizer almost cost me #2 piston in my InLine. Running WFO (6200 RPM) down the St. Johns and it suddenly started running on 5. Idled back to ramp and checked the plugs. #2 had Al shorting it. Got it home, put in new plugs, took it to the Vilano ramp and backed in Cranked on the trailer and hooked up my timing light. #1 was good, #2 was about 10 degrees advanced, the rest just bounced around. I had been told to disconnect idle stabilizer. I did and all 6 were rock steady on timing. Went home and pit the IS where it belonged. Solved that problem.
    I carry a gun because a cop won't fit in my pocket.

    1987 Glasstream 15V
    1986 Mariner "Tower of Power" 115

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    HUDSON, FLORIDA
    Posts
    486
    Thanks (Given)
    15
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Given)
    53
    Likes (Received)
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    your probabl right! i ant get idle stable too high then too low top end changes hour to hour old stuff for sure. im just starring at all those wires have nothing to loose at this point if balanced injectors new spaghetti hoses dont cure things those boxes are history! magcat62

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    HUDSON, FLORIDA
    Posts
    486
    Thanks (Given)
    15
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Given)
    53
    Likes (Received)
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well $$$$$$$$$$ later test run no good gotta be the boxes told mech take em off, loosing 800 rpm idle is great hole shot sounds like 5 cyl to me! motor ran 6000 gets warmed up 55oo next pass 52oo WTF! HAS new stator bleed hoses filters tpi rite on can timing kill that much power? im gonna find out real soon 87 220 efi POS! IM SO DONE ART

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    HUDSON, FLORIDA
    Posts
    486
    Thanks (Given)
    15
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Given)
    53
    Likes (Received)
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by wrechin2 View Post
    I don't like them either and I don't think you will find many who do. Just simply remove it and set timing to specs on pick up and on max. You can fudge a little on pick up to make it idle smoother and to be more stable. That is what the stabilze did. If it fall below 500 rpm it would begin to advance the timing to compensate for it. I am surprized that no one else answered. If it is a idle and high speed it will be a 4 wire. Just idle stabilzer it will be three. Hope this helps you.
    there all commin off det box all adv=retardIVEgot7wires

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    TX......somewhere?
    Posts
    5,629
    Thanks (Given)
    3
    Thanks (Received)
    193
    Likes (Given)
    89
    Likes (Received)
    575
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    original ecu?.. if so they are mostly junk!.. injectors aren't "balanced".. they are cleaned and flowed... should have been labeled highest to lowest to determine which one ta put in which cylinder or if tha "cleaner guy" is worth a hill a beans list of what goes where would be included!.........
    Last edited by tlwjkw; 12-13-2016 at 09:06 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    TX......somewhere?
    Posts
    5,629
    Thanks (Given)
    3
    Thanks (Received)
    193
    Likes (Given)
    89
    Likes (Received)
    575
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Magcat 62 View Post
    there all commin off det box all adv=retardIVEgot7wires
    three wires.. white/black, white/red, black

    tha one with whole bunch will be oiler module.. tha other one with whole bunch will be a detonation module.. you can lose it also....

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    HUDSON, FLORIDA
    Posts
    486
    Thanks (Given)
    15
    Thanks (Received)
    4
    Likes (Given)
    53
    Likes (Received)
    39
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    my 87 # ob211002 220 2,4 has 3 boxes mfg date april 87 you must real early to run a3 mine runs a6 2 wire is idle box 7 wire is adv bow other is deton bxox thats all i will say, set timing max @ 22" use white wire from sw box to sw box and lol!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    TX......somewhere?
    Posts
    5,629
    Thanks (Given)
    3
    Thanks (Received)
    193
    Likes (Given)
    89
    Likes (Received)
    575
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    one more time, your idle advance has three wires. white/black, white/red, black.. black is a maybe...tha "other two are stacked up on top of tha block.. one oiler module other is detonation control module...

    tha white/black probably had a joint made up a little ways into tha sleeve... thats where ya get rid of tha white/black and build a lot smaller "jumper" for tha bias ...

    think this is what your sayin' but my head hurts so jus assumin' it is!

    ecu 14632A?... tha A2 was tha "original '87" but was superseded several times in first year of efi production 'cause it was a real pos....
    Last edited by tlwjkw; 12-13-2016 at 09:49 PM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Aeromarine Research