Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Jersey Speed Skiffs, engines, gears, caviatation etc.

Hello all,

I'm gaining interest in obtaining a speed skiff hull or a complete speed skiff. I realize these things are few and far between so I have a few "what ifs" going on in my mind. I'm a real rookie when it comes to the technical part of boats. I'm more of a car/motorcycle guy. My online research indicates that in-board boats do not have transmissions (like a automobile transmission) but somehow have gears that reduce the spin of the propeller shaft. Meaning the prop shaft is spinning more slowly than the motor crankshaft to make sure the propeller intake force and thrust are in proper order. Please let me know if anything I say is incorrect. I'm trying to generalize the whole thing.

What do you call this type of gear mechanism? I read an article (forgot the link) that talked about them having gears and them not having gears. It contradicted the hell out of itself which got me even more confused.

Okay so my question is: If a speed skiff typically has a 289 or 305 cubic inch V8 what mechanism is used to keep the prop shaft slower than the engine crank shaft?

If I found a speed skiff sans a v8 then would it be tough to replace the v8 with a Volvo redblock engine? I now this sounds silly but I have a limited budget and a Volvo redblock in great shape. I'd like to know if this gearing mechanism will fit a redblock or will I really need to have a Chevy V8 in it. I'm not concerned about engine mounts. My gut says any speed skiffs available with reliable V8 are going to cost a pretty penny and I'd rather not try one with a V8 that's been behind the barn for the last 30 years.

Please help me out with this guys. Thank you!

Also, are there any Jersey Speed Skiff manufacturers still in business? Youtube videos of them racing make me think that are. Please let me know. Thanks again.