Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How to repair a 1984 Mercury 150 Black Max that won’t idle, and oil injection removal

I’m a machinist with no prior experience trouble shooting my Mercury outboard because it worked great for decades. I couldn’t find anyone willing to work on it, with the help of S&F contributors Rock, Rgsauger, and Onpad, I fixed it myself. Many thanks to those guys. Now it runs better than ever. My diagnosis and repair process is described below.

1. Problem: The motor would start and fast idle, but when I slowed down to shift into gear, it died.

2. Ultimate solution: replaced the stator and switch boxes, details described below.

3. More detail: Mercury, 1984, 150 ELPTO model: 1150724, serial: 6455388

4. The motor had been working fine and then suddenly, like flipping a switch, would not idle. If I pushed the release to advance the throttle without being in gear, it would start and fast idle, but when I slowed down to shift into gear, the motor stopped.

5. Hauled it home and took the cover off. It looked complicated so I started with the easy stuff.

6. Bought a Seloc Tune-up and Repair Manual for Mercs 1965-1986 because that is all I could find for my 37-year-old motor. The manual covers all 6-in-line and V6 from 1965-1986, I started reading and stapled together all the sections that don’t apply to my motor. Read it about 3 times before it started to make sense.