Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Running issues with Johnson Venom 200

Let me start by saying sorry for the long post but I like to give anybody willing to help me with anything as much info as I possibly can. I'm having an issue with a rough idle and poor hole shot with my J200STLEOA on my 96 Javelin 409. The only real repair history I know of is that the previous owner had replaced the VRO pump with a conventional style pump and went to premix and I rebuilt the carbs with OEM kits 3 years or so ago when I bought the boat for no real reason other than I had no idea the last time it was done and the previous owner couldn't remember. Also replaced the stator when I first got the boat with a CDI brand unit as I noticed it had the physical leakage they seem to get and also the charging circuit wasn't working correctly which replacing the stator fixed.

I work on modern cars for a living so I have a lot of diagnostic equipment to try and figure out this issue but I'll be the first to admit my experience with 2 strokes and also older engines/fuel injection is limited (custom tune on my 95 tbi chevy being about the oldest thing I have experience with). I have a hard copy factory service manual I got off ebay but am curious if there are any common failure points or any quick diagnostic methods someone may be willing to share to help speed the up the diagnostic process. I am the type of person that likes to really dig into an issue and prove a failure point and not guess at what the problem may be or throw parts at something.