Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

CLE lower unit questions

I have no hands on knowledge of CLE lower units,So some simple questions i hope. Mine has a 1.75 ratio can i in stall 2.0 gears on the same carrier and is there anything special about the parts in a CLE. Thank You

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nothing special: to accommodate the gear ratio (four are available since the Sportmaster came on the market) changes while maintaining approximately the same gear outside diameter to fit into CLE and/or Sportmaster casings, Mercury change the Modulus (for the layman: the gear tooth spacing) of the gears. Do not forget to install all new seals and bearings, reshim the lot as per Merc Manual (using pinion height tool and long feeler gauge, verify assy. with backlash tool) Bearing replacement and shimming may take 3 hours or 3 days - dependent on how the tolerances of the casing and the other components stack up. This job cannot be rushed .
    Install the seals (propshaft and driveshaft) only after shimming is done. Use Merc seal protector over propshaft threads. On final assembly, use Merc EP Grease on gears and bearings, and Merc 2-4-C Teflon Grease on the seals and WP impeller. The two propshaft seals in the back-end of the Bearing Carrier must be installed with red Loctite - they like to wiggle themselves out.
    Rgds, Wolfgang (South Africa)

3. Likes LakeFever liked this post
    Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you for the reply Wolfgangb and the information

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)