Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hydroplane Engine Help

I hope I am in the right place.

I am a shop teacher in Long Island, NY and am gearing up to start a major project next year for an advanced materials processing class. The class consists of 8 upper classmen high-schoolers and each year we build a major project together. This next year we are going to build a hydroplane from clark craft, its the 11'3" ben hur. I have already got the plans, hardware, most of the materials and epoxy & fiberglass kit for it, I am just not sure what engine to run. The plans state it can hold an engine up to 60 hp and was curious if anyone knows of a good engine in that range that makes good power to weight. I think it would need to be a 15" shaft, but we might be able to alter the transom to support a 20".

The plans state: "For the non racer who would like a big hydro that will take two people with safety for a fast, safe, soft ride, Ben Hur would be ideal. This hydro is as simple as possible to build, no extensive jig is needed. 36 pictures of construction and action, full step by step building instructions, full size rib drawings, scale drawings, some tips on setting up and a complete bill of materials. Meets all APBA specs for "C," "D" and "F" and will take any motor from 25 to 60 hp."

If anyone can point me in a direction towards anything for sale I would also appreciate it. Since I cannot buy a used outboard thru the school it will come out of pocket, so I need to be budget conscious. Along with basic maintenance I can do carb rebuilds and more advanced stuff like a hone and re-ring but would like to stay away from a total overhaul project motor.

Any help would be appreciated
    thank you

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yamaha made a 15 inch pro v 50, they are like unicorn farts now but a great little motor.