Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

1985 Evinrude 60hp Flywheel

I have a 1985 60Hp Evinrude and am planning on doing some modifications over the winter to get me to my desired speed. I've read some articles on here recently about sending the flywheel off and having milled to gain a little bit of speed. I'm new to the word of outboard modification so I don't fully understand everything yet. I was wondering, is it a good choice to get it milled, or am I just asking for trouble in the future with reliability? If it is a good option, are there any specifications that I should stay inside to make sure it will work properly? Dimensions or weight reductions? Any comments or replies appreciated.

Thanks, Cal

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If your engine is a 3 cylinder, a factory 1972 or 1973 ( one of the two ) 65 HP flywheel is supposed to be a a lighter weight option. 3 cyl. only. Easily recognized by it's short ring gear teeth. I picked one up for a 56 ci short shaft project awhile back. If you're running a two cylinder.......never mind. When referencing your motor, 2 or 3 cylinder, along with displacement might get you more accurate info. Between the years of 85 and 86 you could have a 2 cyl, a 3 cyl, 45 ci,( 2 cyl.) 49 ci, (3 cyl.)or a 56 ci. (3 cyl.)All labeled as 60 HP. Hope this is of some help!

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Callum5009 View Post