User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Southeast
    Posts
    720
    Thanks (Given)
    88
    Thanks (Received)
    44
    Likes (Given)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    296
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Set up Throttle Position Sensor on promax

    Can anyone comment on setting the TPS on a promax. Manual says I need a special plug adapter to use a multi-meter to measure voltage. .24-.26 stock setting. Is there a way to do it without the adapter? Mine is turned way to the right (clockwise from center). Not near the middle of the adjustment range. Motor is burning lots of fuel and looks rich on plugs. I've had my ECU checked out and injectors flowed. Thanks for any advice.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Florida/New York
    Posts
    21,340
    Thanks (Given)
    724
    Thanks (Received)
    1151
    Likes (Given)
    2629
    Likes (Received)
    4209
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    I personally do not know this information but I'm positive others can comment on that. If need be, I can see if I can find info on that.
    Greg


    Facebook | YouTube | Vintage Outboard Catalogs
    Photo prints available of your boat - click here


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    1,212
    Thanks (Given)
    2
    Thanks (Received)
    65
    Likes (Given)
    12
    Likes (Received)
    82
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Typically you can back pin, or unplug and set it by ohms.

    Ohm spec should be in the book.

    Make sure the signals 5v just as a pre test. Bad power can throw them off as well since it is simple voltage resistance system

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Pekin, IL
    Posts
    8,979
    Thanks (Given)
    403
    Thanks (Received)
    474
    Likes (Given)
    1814
    Likes (Received)
    3042
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I made three pins so I could plug it in with exposed metal. Works great.

    Rock
    Team Junk

    No sparkling wiggles in here, only dump truck grinches.

    "Screamin Heathen"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Southeast
    Posts
    720
    Thanks (Given)
    88
    Thanks (Received)
    44
    Likes (Given)
    34
    Likes (Received)
    296
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't see any mention of ohms in this area of the manual?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Edgewater,B.C. CANADA
    Posts
    8,131
    Thanks (Given)
    153
    Thanks (Received)
    296
    Likes (Given)
    3281
    Likes (Received)
    1160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DangerNewb View Post
    I don't see any mention of ohms in this area of the manual?
    That's because it is more accurate the set using volts, the tool is cheap and makes setting so easy.

    Dave
    1980 Cougar 19 tunnel,90 2.4L Bridgeport EFI in middle of restoration.
    1988 BAJA Sunsport 186, 96 225 Pro Max
    79 12' Auminum, 95 Merc 9.9
    RIP Stu
    "So many idiots, so few bullets"

  7. Likes RSWORDS liked this post
  8. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Northern Cal
    Posts
    190
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    14
    Likes (Given)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DangerNewb View Post
    Can anyone comment on setting the TPS on a promax. Manual says I need a special plug adapter to use a multi-meter to measure voltage. .24-.26 stock setting. Is there a way to do it without the adapter? Mine is turned way to the right (clockwise from center). Not near the middle of the adjustment range. Motor is burning lots of fuel and looks rich on plugs. I've had my ECU checked out and injectors flowed. Thanks for any advice.
    The general consensus seems to be using voltage is the most accurate way to set TPS is using voltage but here are some numbers I wrote down from posts and then wrote down the comparisons using voltage read with the mercury test cable and then the resistance readings from the TPS with it not connected to the harness .
    Using ohms TPS minimum should be 200 ohms (leanest) and 700 ohms (richest)
    so if 200 ohms equates to .200 volts and 700 ohms would be .300volts , 450 ohms should be right in the middle @ .250 volts .

    I checked the TPS on my 200 EFI after I first verified it was set at .242volts using test harness .
    Fully disconnected the TPS was 410 ohms @Idle and 1230 ohms @ full throttle

  9. Thanks DangerNewb thanked for this post
    Likes rgsauger liked this post
  10. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    2,807
    Thanks (Given)
    789
    Thanks (Received)
    264
    Likes (Given)
    11248
    Likes (Received)
    2687
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DangerNewb View Post
    Can anyone comment on setting the TPS on a promax. Manual says I need a special plug adapter to use a multi-meter to measure voltage. .24-.26 stock setting. Is there a way to do it without the adapter? Mine is turned way to the right (clockwise from center). Not near the middle of the adjustment range. Motor is burning lots of fuel and looks rich on plugs. I've had my ECU checked out and injectors flowed. Thanks for any advice.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_2056.jpg 
Views:	573 
Size:	374.6 KB 
ID:	417229
    Wriggleys gum makes me think of boating, "Double your engines, Double your fun"



  11. Likes RSWORDS liked this post
  12. #9
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    gold coast
    Posts
    2
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just jumping on an old
    thread here, but how do you adjust it once you get a reading? Mines burning really well but I’d like to fatten it up a bit so I don’t feel bad holding her at wot for long periods


    Thanks

  13. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Edgewater,B.C. CANADA
    Posts
    8,131
    Thanks (Given)
    153
    Thanks (Received)
    296
    Likes (Given)
    3281
    Likes (Received)
    1160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TomTML View Post
    Just jumping on an old
    thread here, but how do you adjust it once you get a reading? Mines burning really well but I’d like to fatten it up a bit so I don’t feel bad holding her at wot for long periods


    Thanks
    The adjustment is made at idle don't worry about the open throttle reading as long as it is with in the range given in manual.

    Dave
    1980 Cougar 19 tunnel,90 2.4L Bridgeport EFI in middle of restoration.
    1988 BAJA Sunsport 186, 96 225 Pro Max
    79 12' Auminum, 95 Merc 9.9
    RIP Stu
    "So many idiots, so few bullets"

  14. #11
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    gold coast
    Posts
    2
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    0
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave Strong View Post
    The adjustment is made at idle don't worry about the open throttle reading as long as it is with in the range given in manual.

    Dave
    Thanks mate, but how do I adjust it?

  15. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Edgewater,B.C. CANADA
    Posts
    8,131
    Thanks (Given)
    153
    Thanks (Received)
    296
    Likes (Given)
    3281
    Likes (Received)
    1160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TomTML View Post
    Thanks mate, but how do I adjust it?
    Well you need 2 things, a service manual and a TPS tool.

    Dave
    1980 Cougar 19 tunnel,90 2.4L Bridgeport EFI in middle of restoration.
    1988 BAJA Sunsport 186, 96 225 Pro Max
    79 12' Auminum, 95 Merc 9.9
    RIP Stu
    "So many idiots, so few bullets"

  16. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Location
    sacramento
    Posts
    86
    Thanks (Given)
    23
    Thanks (Received)
    2
    Likes (Given)
    8
    Likes (Received)
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TomTML View Post
    Thanks mate, but how do I adjust it?
    it has slotted screw slots for a reason

Similar Threads

  1. throttle position sensor
    By jaybluez in forum Technical Discussion
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-05-2015, 09:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Aeromarine Research