Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

1989 Mercury Black Max 150 - problems with power, missing on cylinders

Forgive me for what is likely to be a lengthy post, but the history is long and the bills have started to pile up. I don't know what else to do.
    I would appreciate any help or advice anyone could give to get me pointed in the right direction. I'm no mechanic by any stretch, but mechanically minded and my dad who's been helping me is a mechanic - albeit not a boat mechanic.

The motor is a 1989 Mercury Black Max 150. serial - B313046

Here's what happens: First, the boat won't idle, and when I get it moving and it finally does get up on plane it is still down on power, and I can hear the 6th cylinder cutting in and out. I think it's running on about 3-4 cylinders at idle.
    However, even though it seems to be missing on cylinders, they always have good spark, and they pour fuel out the exhaust.
    The motor runs like a complete dog out of the hole - I'm sure it's only hitting on about 3 cylinders.
    Compression is decent and consistent across the cylinders at 95-105 psi.
    We've taken the carbs apart and they look good. No concerns at all that we could see.
    When testing the motor on the muffs, it's cylinders 1,3,4 that don't seem to be firing, and thus, not on one bank. We tested this by pulling the wires while it's running and listening for engine note to change.
    I have changed the stator and the trigger and had no change to the performance of the motor.
    We have switched power packs around, and tried a different set from another motor and the problem stayed on the same cylinders.
    We have moved coils around and the problem stayed on the same cylinders.
    We checked the timing and it is where it's supposed to be. (i forget the details, but we confirmed it was set according to the manuals for the motor)