Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

New member, 1st boat in a long time Advice

First Hello, Love this place. I have been searching, reading and searching some more. I see much mention of pad type V-bottoms and the required seat time to learn how to really operate them properly? I have NO experience in this type of boat, so it is a concern to me? I grew up around 17-19 foot fishing/fun family boats, not a complete newbie? Should I be looking at a less thoroughbred hull design, sedate maybe? The boat will be for Lake Mead, surrounding ponds and rivers out west and maybe the Columbia river some summer! Primary uses, cruising, killing time, stress relief and fishing. Thoughts, a 21 to 24 footer with 200 to 300 horse (depends on boat?) efi outboard. Performance goal 50-55 mph easy cruising speed and efficiency without worrying about snotty weather? Looks, LOVE the classic Donzi, Superboat, Checkmate style boats, really like the 2400 BRX, roomy! Plenty of stuff on here about what are quality hulls, what they will handle, what to look for and how they will perform. It is all those little comments about handling quirks, chine walking and how much seat time you need before you are SAFE and know what you are doing that are tweaking me?? Links to more info on this topic are appreciated as are comments about other hull choices or combos? Dang there is a lot of opinions on engines too. I thought the whole Ford, GM, Chrysler thing was BAD!

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Welcome to scream and fly,

A 24 checkmate with a 300 will run in the 70s so you will be happy-It is an easy hull to drive. Contact Randy Corson (aka Wildman) as he has been checkmates #1 dealer in the recent past and has a spotless clean used 24 right now. Randys cell # is 386 295 2132, tell them that I directed you.

Joe