Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

"Good" V4 crossflow build

Hi everyone,

This is my first post here, even though I've been lurking around for years and decided to register a while ago.

I found my old '89 Evinrude 90 in my basement a few weeks ago. It's been disassembled since 1990, after a piece of a piston skirt chipped off and scored one of the cylinders; at the time repairing it with OEM parts wasn't worth the cost and effort but recently I've been thinking about rebuilding it. Mostly because my teenage son is getting a bit frustrated with his 13' + 20hp aluminum boat (no waterskiing, slow) and this might be an ideal father-son -project. I have 25+ years of experience working with engines, both 4- and 2-stroke, and I'd love to pass some of this to him.

In any case, I just bought a seized '76 135hp engine for parts (carbs, heads, bubbleback) and for porting measurements. I know the crank splines don't match to those of '89 but the engine was dirt cheap and I'm not planning to use the block/crank anyway.

My idea of the build is as follows:

.030 or .040 overbore, low ring pistons for durability
    Porting the 90 block to 135hp specs + using some of the tricks from "9 pages" mod list
    Installing exhaust fillers and machining the surface flat for bubbleback
    Machining the exhaust divider as in 140hp crossflows
    "Siamesing" the 90 intake manifold
    Rebuilt 135 carbs, converted from choke to primer
    135 heads, of course, for compression
    Intake filler blocks from 140
    Composite reeds

...and lots of rejetting, trial and error (no outboard dynos around), on premium fuel only.