Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

RARE Merc Short Shaft (16in) 150hp inline six

HI...This is my first time posting on this site. I came across a Merc 150hp with a 16inch shaft. I am in California and nobody out here seems to know much about it. I came on an old glastron. Wrong motor for this boat. Needs to be on a small speed boat. So...I replaced the motor with a 140 evinrude 4. Does anyone know about these short shaft Mercs? It runs good..had the carbs rebuilt and good 119-120 compression.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    show a picture. Im gonna send you a pm. conrad
    L6fan57-88

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    worth depends on several things. Most 150's from that era pushed 150 psi per hole. If yours has high dome pistons in it, it is probably a bit tired.

look fwd to seeing pics thanks
    conrad
    L6fan57-88

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The compression numbers you posted are very low for an inline Mercury. There are a number of things that can cause this including weak battery, inacurate guage, poor testing technicque or bad starter. It is good that they are uniform but if they are accurate and that low then the motor is extremely tired and will need to be rebuilt. It could indicate that it has been run hot damaging the rings or egg shaping the cyinders or just worn out from long use or poor oil or oil ratio. Some times the rings can get all stuck from oil over the years too and this can sometimes be fixed with sprays through the carbs without pulling it down. A leakdown test would tell you more.