Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Bass Boat with long shaft motor?

Hi folks, I need help determining if I have a long shaft motor on a short transom boat and what I can do about it if this is the case. I purchased this boat about 2 months ago and other than having to replace the trim motor everything seems to work great, however people started telling me the the boat should run faster than what it does. I have an 1982 chanpion 18'6 FS that has a 1989 Force 150 motor. After looking around nobody in the world has a Force on the back of their bass boats and they appear to be only on the deep v type pleasure boats. Anyway top speed was about 42 mph so I started playing with this thing and it has a hydrofoil on it so I removed it boom I jumped up to 47 mph but my boss at work says that it still should run close to 60 with the 150 on it. So after looking around several different forums it appears that I might be dealing with a long shaft motor on a short transom boat especially since removing the hydrafoil I jumped up 5 mph which makes me think that while running at WOT that this thing was still completely submerged. Another indicator is that to get maximum speed I have to run with the trim all the way up and when I stop I get a good amount of water that comes over the back of the boat I seen that in another post somewhere. If this is the case would putting a jackplate on to lift the motor to where the prop is supposed to run be something to look at? My concern is ofcourse with a long shaft motor will this be too much torq on the transom or be less torq on it due to lifting the prop up. The boat is rated for a 175 hp which may be enough rating to lift this 150 5 to 6 inches and still be okay. I'm new to this and seems like I can't learn fast enough any help would be appriciated. I'll try to attach some pictures so you can see what I'm talking about just in case I'm barking up the wrong tree.