Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Unhappy NOS 1999 225 ProMax won't start

Hi,<O</O
    <O</O

My name is Gary Maffei and I am a newbie to this board. I am also a member of the AOMCI (Antique Outboard Motor Club) as well. <O</O
    <O</O

I have an Eliminator 19' Daytona that has been a project of mine for a long time now. I purchased a new 1999 ProMax 225 for the boat and it has never seen water. I started it for the first time two years ago to see if it would run and it did and I ran it for a few minutes to circulate oil through it. I tried running it again last weekend and it wouldn't start. I had no spark which I learned was due to having the tether connection closed. I straightened out that and now am not getting fuel. Mercury sent me a 2002 service manual instead of the 1999 but the motors seem to be similar enough that I think I understand what might be wrong. I opened the drain to the VST and there is gas coming out. When I open the high pressure valve (Schrader Valve on top of the VST) there was no gas. When I turn on the key there was a thump thump thump sound coming from the VST. I disassembled the VST and removed the pump and connected it to a 12V DC power supply. The pump seemed to run fine. I connected it up to the motor and turned on the key and it seems to run fine there now too. I have not reassembled the VST yet as the O-ring is stretched and I need to order a new one. There was no sludge in the VST and I don't know what was up with the pump. Has anyone had problems with these pumps? Hopefully, when I get this together it will work unless the injectors are gummed up.<O</O
    <O</O

Gary Maffei<O</O

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    7 Thread(s)