Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Proceedure for changing water pump impeller

I have a 05 2.5 XS Optiimax with a Sportmaster lower unit that I need to replace the water pump impeller. I have never done this before, but I hear it's not to hard of a job. Can someone give me a step by step proceedure or direct me to one. Also, do I need to buy just the impeller or is their some sort of rebuild kit I should get.

Thanks,
    Bill

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    First with the argument: I always get the full kit with the housing. It comes with evrything to replace the whole pump. Too many times the housing may be a little warped or a gasket deeper down has been sacrificed. Do all the gaskets and housing so there is no question of the integrety of the pump.

Get a service manual.

Procedure: Remove all the fasteners holding the gearcase on, remove the gearcase (it drops off with no hiddenn linkages). There should be a plastic guide tube that sometimes stays on the water tube....... be sure to retrieve it. Replace the pump and all the gaskets. When installing the impeller, slide the impeller onto the shaft and onto the keyway. Slide the housing down and turn the driveshaft clockwise as you push the housing into place over the impeller. Put the water tube guide on the pump and install the lower unit being careful to line up the guide with the tube. The splines on the driveshaft may or may not line up with the crankshaft, so you may need to drop the gearcase to turn the driveshaft a small amount until the splines line up. Make sure the water tube and shift shaft line up as you install the gearcaes. Bolt it up and you are done.
    "One of the penalties for refusing to participate in politics is that you end up being governed by your inferiors". Plato .

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)