PDA

View Full Version : Question for Merc EFI experts

Matt
05-21-2001, 11:27 PM
I'm running a Pro Max that is supposed to run 34-36 psi fuel pressure. I run 34 psi at idle but I know my regulator is bad. I didn't get the chance to check the fuel pressure up higher in the rpm range before it leaned out and stuck #6 for the fifth time in a year. Here's my question. How low could the fuel pressure drop below 34 psi before I started having problems seizing pistons?

Thanks for any ideas,
Matt

RayBishop
05-22-2001, 01:50 AM
I'm not an EFI expert, but if #6 is the only cyl leaning out, I would think there is injector or ECU problems

RayBishop
05-22-2001, 02:28 AM
low fuel pressure should lean all cyls. sounds like your problem is dedicated to #6. I would suspect injector or ECU problems...

jimmyb
05-22-2001, 07:12 AM
raybishop is right that low fuel pressure will lean down all cylinders. However, the usually one cylinder will go down, and that cylinder is usually #6 (since it is already usually the hottest one)

as far as specifics of what fuel pressure would be too low, that is a crap shoot... it depends on your specific motor, air quality and temp, rpms, full throttle vs. part throttle, etc etc.

Matt
05-22-2001, 11:43 AM
All cylinders are definitely on the lean side. Like Jimmy mentioned, I figured #6 would be the first to go because it is always going to be the leanest hole due to it's location. Ray, we've suspected it was an injector or ECU problem all along, but Kinsler flowed my injectors and Rapair has checked my ECU on several occasions and everything checked out. We put the fattest injector in #6. If I remember correctly it was about 1% richer than the other 5. Plus, the majority of the times mine has went down has been at WOT instead of the midrange lean condition that has gotten the majority of the Pro Maxes.

JohnBoy
05-22-2001, 04:14 PM
Have you checked the exaust tuner to make sure it has not come loose. This will cause the lower cylinders to run lean.