PDA

View Full Version : Setback on STV

STVorHST?
05-21-2001, 05:32 PM
I am new to the STV's and would like help on best setback on a 94 STV / 2.5 EFI. Currently mounted directly to transon. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
Mark
STVorHST?

hotrodtodd
05-21-2001, 07:55 PM
mark what kind of stv do you have ?Is your 2.5 a 260 or a 280?

STVorHST?
05-21-2001, 08:02 PM
It is a Pro Comp with a 260, However the original literature from the previous owner shows it as a Comp/Racer?. We just weigh'd the unit tonight without motor and fuel and came up with 733#'s This doesn't match anything that I've read. Who knows...

Firestarter
05-22-2001, 07:50 AM
That weight is about right. The pro comp runs best with the motor in the middle bolt hole on the transom.
14.5 X 32 cleaver will be quickest, and a 28 ET for good acceleration.

RT

AnthonySS
05-22-2001, 09:24 AM
RT is RIGHT!

The advertised weight on a ProCompSki was 825 lb. Add doble kevlar and the weight can be as low as 775lbs on a full interior boat.

RT has done alot of testing on these boats and yes they run best stuck on the transom. Roarke Summerford said the same. You loose about 3 mph with a setback, however the setback could have some other benefits.

I use a 5.5" CMC mostly for added clearance when tilting the motor and for more leverage when loaded.

Sincerely,

AnthonySS

Raceman
05-22-2001, 09:31 PM