PDA

View Full Version : Question: Hull Blueprinting???

Cooderdog
07-27-2005, 12:37 AM
Formost, I am a forum newbie and wish to thank all of you for a very interesting and most informative wealth of information... The knowledge base is simply stunning!! I dabbled with GP Class Hydros (The Orange Crush) many-many years ago and have always had a HP boat or two...... Divorced combined with the death of a dear friend, both a result of those go fast boats had me rethink....

Anyway, I find myself turning the big 50, retired and freak'in bored.... I figure it's time to wipe the dust off of a few goodies and get back into this not for the faint hearted hobby and/or full time insanity..... Depends upon your perspective, you guys know...

Anyway... My first posting is a question: What exactly is blueprinting a hull?

I have read several postings that have mentioned hull blueprinting... I have assumed this is a tolerance specification compliance per the design... Well, as you know, never assume, it could kill you.........

Flashypaint
07-27-2005, 12:51 AM
welcome aboard ..
Blueprinting is in simple terms removing imperfections. making the surface smooth-flat and sharping the corners. Some hulls have a rocker or hook built in which doesnt mean removing these in some types of hulls.

Cooderdog
07-27-2005, 01:45 AM
Flashypaint...

Thanks for the reply --- I was really trying to over complicate hull blueprinting....

Rickracer
07-27-2005, 06:12 AM
...would be nice, razor sharp edges on all strakes and the transom, something that would be very difficult to produce out of a mold, but very important to speed and handling. It is also not that important to 98% of all boat buyers, just to those of us that are addicted to adrenaline. :cool:

Cooderdog
07-27-2005, 11:39 AM