PDA

View Full Version : Newbie...My First Jet.

justaddfuel
04-29-2005, 08:22 AM
Hey, all. I'm new to the jet boat scene. I've owned a couple of beauty outboards, but we just bought a cottage on a lake that's not overly deep. After browsing through the forums, I feel like I'm back in grade 1, with all the new terminology, but I look forward to this kind of school!
Maybe some of you can offer some advice. As the pics show, she's a basketcase, but the hull is actually in really good shape. She's got a jacuzzi 12wj, with an electric driven place diverter. She measures 16' overall, and has a very shallow V bottom. Used to have a 455 OLDS.
I was hoping someone could help identify this hull.
Thanks

rock
04-29-2005, 09:26 AM
Kinda looks like my old Hondo. The thing is, I have seen a hundred different flat bottom boats and they all look the same but have different names. Splashing must have been huge in California back then. Good luck.
Rock

triple dude
04-29-2005, 09:54 AM
Too old for me to ID and like Rock says, many were copies. I'd guess a jet that old is pretty rare up your way?? For jet pump parts, you can probably get Jaccuzi stuff from American Turbine. They were on a buying spree a few years ago to buy up the competition. Good luck. That should work out well in your shallows but those Olds 455's have to be getting scarce.

justaddfuel
04-29-2005, 10:39 AM
You're right...you don't see alot of older jet boats up here. There's lots of I/o's though. I figured I'd use one of those motors. Chev BB is what's going in. The only jets I found locally were both CVX 20's, with berkely pump's. Both asking 3500, one had motor, but was rough, one was fresh, no motor. But I wanted something a bit meaner. Came with alot of vintage jewelry, ie..polished fuel tanks, deck mounted tach, ski-bar, mahogany steering wheel, etc...

Riverman
04-29-2005, 01:34 PM
That looks like a good project for turbine power!:cool:

justaddfuel
04-29-2005, 02:28 PM