PDA

View Full Version : How to clear coat

Fibertron
06-14-2003, 12:06 AM
Im looking at a boat which obviously needs to be clear coated(I only want he motor but he wont seperate). The hull is blue/silver metal flake. How do I prepare the hull and apply the clear coat. I can spray it but it would be much eassier to brush it(is this possible). What should I expect to pay to complete a clear coat, and what brand would you all recomend. Im on a bit of a budget but still want it to look decent enough to sell the boat for a reasonable price. I have never done this before, so the more info the better. Thanks!

Techno
06-14-2003, 07:27 AM
I wouldn't CC it. The person who buys it may not want it cleared and then they have to take it off.

Clear coat is just paint with no pigments or dyes in it. So all the things you would do for painting you would do for the CC.

Consider if this engine deal is worth buying the boat, prepping and then selling it. There may be an engine out there that is chepa.

Fibertron
06-14-2003, 10:53 PM
Thanks for responding! What should you do to prep the boat for paint, and how do you apply it. Its been really hard finding a motor that I want, a mid 90s 90 merc at a reasonable price.
Why wouldnt someone want the boat clear coated. It will look way better. Thanks again

Techno
06-15-2003, 09:35 AM
IT needs to be cleaned with soap and water.
Degreased with wax and degreaser stuff that says it right on the can.
Sanded with around 220 grit to supply tooth for the new paint.
Not touched by your hands after and while the degreasing. Your skin has oils on it. Wear rubber gloves or dont' touch.
After the sanding wash off with water and degrease again.
You degrease before sanding to keep from pushing contaminants further into the surface with the sanding.
Also the boat itself needs the items taken off it, gauges and stuff.

Make sure you can sand this before you do. You don't want to break through the surface to metal flake and sand the flake.