PDA

View Full Version : Ventura pad

Jmr1974
04-25-2021, 03:29 PM
Last fall when I flipped my boat over (hull up) on the trailer to store it outside for the winter I got my first good look at the bottom. I noticed someone previously filled the pad in so it was flat with what appears to be auto bondo.... why would somebody do this? It should be concave correct? Looks like I got some digging to do to find the original pad. I’m really curious why they did this, what would be the downside of a flat pad on a Ventura?

LakeFever
04-25-2021, 04:40 PM
Bondo has talc in it but fairing compound looks similar. If it’s bondo it needs to go if it’s fairing compound? It can stay but the flatness of the pad? I’m no expert but a hook in the pad works kind of like a spoiler on a car. A spoiler uses air to push the rear of the car down and a hook pushes the bow of the boat down. Most restorations involve flattening the pad and sharpening all edges. This combine with the right engine height results in a zero trim set up and runs flat, and fast. That’s the gyst of it as far as I know.

Mine has a very slight hook, I’m still undecided whether I’m going to flatten it or leave it.

Jmr1974
04-25-2021, 04:48 PM
Bondo has talc in it but fairing compound looks similar. If it’s bondo it needs to go if it’s fairing compound? It can stay but the flatness of the pad? I’m no expert but a hook in the pad works kind of like a spoiler on a car. A spoiler uses air to push the rear of the car down and a hook pushes the bow of the boat down. Most restorations involve flattening the pad and sharpening all edges. This combine with the right engine height results in a zero trim set up and runs flat, and fast. That’s the gyst of it as far as I know.

Mine has a very slight hook, I’m still undecided whether I’m going to flatten it or leave it.