PDA

View Full Version : wich boat and why

xskeetshooter
08-31-2015, 09:12 PM
im new to the stv's hydrostreams and mirage boats....some are just for racing some for play. some drive better some dont....so

i like the looks a stv or mirage....couple nice ones listed for sale now....im not ready to buy yet...so what should i look for and why?

what should i know before i buy?

my choice of motors will be a 300x..

just to clarify im well over 100 right now running a stroker 300xss

JPEROG
08-31-2015, 09:49 PM
1. The stv or mirage will be the easiest for you to drive. 2. Both of these hulls will give you a false sense of ability early in your ownership (don't under estimate what can happen and how fast it happens if something goes bad at speed on the water). 3. It will be the biggest thrill that you can imagine (and its legal in a lot of areas).

I have never owned a mirage but have driven several. I have owned several STVs and keep going back to them. You are starting at the top of ladder with a 3L./stv combo-they are the real deal https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fwNGbNNHS8k

Joe

Hot Shot Merc
08-31-2015, 09:51 PM
Maybe you should educate yourself before buying this type of boat. My suggestion would buy a 16' john boat with a 25 hp engine first then maybe step up to a glastron with 85 hp merc. After that maybe a 17 hydrostream with a 150. Your not ready for an STV or Mirage in my opinion.

eli
08-31-2015, 10:28 PM