PDA

View Full Version : Hole to fill in a hole in transom?

Jeff_S
03-25-2003, 10:43 AM
I am pretty new to working with epoxy for filling holes. I have twelve holes near the top of my transom where a poling platform was through bolted. I already filled the holes with epoxy and carpeted over the inside so that it looks from the inside like a platform was never there. I want to make the outside look as good as possible. Here is my dilema. I sanded the epoxy down and now I need to paint over it try and match the color of the gel coat. The color is off white. How do I finish it off to make it look like the platform was never there?

Jeff_S
03-25-2003, 11:35 AM
I don't know where my mind was, but I just wanted to say I was trying to fill a hole in my transom, not a hole in a hole. GEEEEZZ

H2Onut
03-25-2003, 11:39 AM
You can get gel coat tinted to match your exiting color. i.e. provide a sample of what ya got and they can have it mixed.

Or buy a tint kit yourself and experiment till ya get the tint correct.

www.fgci.com will mix gel to match but must provide a sample.

Jeff_S
03-25-2003, 01:21 PM
I bought one of those kits where you can mix it yourself, but it said not to apply over epoxy. Are they all like this?

H2Onut
03-25-2003, 01:57 PM
You will here both sides of this story, I was also told no gel over epoxy.

Other opinion is to scratch it up, hit it with some solvent and gel will stick.

My personal deal is that I used epoxy and sprayed gel, 8 months later gel is peeling where epoxy was. I did not do any special prep to it other than sanding and wiping with Denatured Alcohol.

But I am NOT a paint geek/guru.

maybe a trick to get it to stick???

Techno
03-25-2003, 06:37 PM
epoxy needs to be cleaned with water not solvent.
The other thing I memeber from a working persons post was not to use solvent after you have scratched any of them, it melts the plastic slightly and smooths it out.