PDA

View Full Version : Hey Fiberglass Experts...

Bruster
03-16-2003, 08:25 PM
I have made a couple repairs on the bottom of my Taylor using West epoxy. Easy enough.
Can I use gelcoat over epoxy?
How is the best way to apply gelcoat over a couple of areas 12" X 6"?
I was thinking of rolling it on with a foam roller, sanding, and polishing. OK? I really don't wan't to spray a small area like this.
Thanks for the help.

Wile E. Coyote
03-17-2003, 05:36 PM
Im not sure about this but check with West Systems, Im sure you can lay epoxy over polyesther resin but Im not sure about Polyester over epoxy....I remember reading somewhere thats a no-no. If its not try useing the roller to apply the gel and then dry brushing it to lay it out...other than that it sounds fine. (as long as the resins are compatible.)

BarryStrawn
03-17-2003, 10:39 PM
I'm no fiberglass expert but I can read and have used polyester gelcoat over epoxy for a few repairs. West Systems specifically recommends polyester gelcoat in their manuals. I have also heard some folks say it would cause "problems" but they never seemed to have any examples.

A $5 Preval aerosol works fine if you want to spray a small repair and not mess with a regular gun. It will need thinned a bit and goes on kinda like stucco but it sands and polishes out easier than brushed. Use a second cup and spray some Polyvinyl Alcohol on top for a hard cure on the gelcoat.

Jacob
03-18-2003, 09:23 PM
is definitely the way to go. Be sure you spray pretty heavy so you don't sand through the gelcoat. If you are matching the color yourself, once you get a color your satisfied with; mix up a little extra. I forget to every once in a while and end up sandin into the resin and having to start all over to keep the repair consistent. good luck

dan
03-18-2003, 10:30 PM