PDA

View Full Version : white gelcoat wet sand

stevo18
03-04-2013, 01:01 PM
I have a 2000 stv pro-comp and I repaired littlle dings and scratches on the bottom last summer by gel repair and wet sanding and buffing it. It came out nice and smooth but if you look at it in the sun you can see some of the sanding marks I used 600 grit to start and worked my way up to 2000 grit but I can't seem to get the right compound thats were I have troubles each time. So what do you guys recomend me to use It would help me alot.

The top of the boat is starting to fade a little and i wanna put time to bring it back all nice and shiny I want to use the same method that I did for the bottom but all the compounds that I tryed simply don't work or they burn everything. I don't wanna mess up my boat by doing a rookie mistake

thanks
steve

stevo18
03-13-2013, 11:13 AM
no one has ever wt sanded and buffed a boat before??

JohnR
03-13-2013, 11:38 AM
I'm no expert but here's what I did:

http://checkmate-boats.com/forums/showthread.php?t=23534&highlight=Buff

stevo18
03-13-2013, 04:47 PM
thanks thats exactly the kind of info I was searching for !!!!
gonna get to it in a few weeks!!!

JohnR
03-13-2013, 06:58 PM
Always glad to help.

rev.ronnie
03-15-2013, 04:50 AM
I just did the face of the transom on one of my boats. It had some rash from a previous jackplate. I figured I would hit it with 600 until I was happy, and if I burned through, it would go to the body shop anyway.

Well, I got it 99% perfect with the 600 on a DA. The went to 1500 by hand (wet), then 3M super duty rubbing compound, then McGuires rubbing compound on the buffer. It looks like new.

stevo18
03-15-2013, 07:26 AM
That's what I use to the 3M compound and its almost like sand and water mixed together that's why I'm gonna use it to do the first ruff pass and then get a lighter compound and swirl remover from McGuires + wet sand at first!!
thanks everyone for your info I will give you details when I'm done :cheers:
steve