PDA

View Full Version : Ron Hill semi-cleaver (not about outboard and racing history)

Markus
01-10-2003, 05:55 AM
Ron,

Since you hang out here. I take the liberty of posting a question even if it is not related to outboard and racing history:

I was just offered to buy 26 and 28 pitch "Ron Hill semi-cleavers" from a guy whose engine I may buy.

I understand basically what people call semi-cleavers, but it seems it could mean a lot of things as long as the prop has more bow lift than a cleaver.

Did/do you make both 3-blades and 4-blades (I did not ask what this was)?

What take-off characteristics does it have?

What bow lift characteristics does it have? (Is it close to a regular cleaver or is it more like some bow-lifting bass boat propellers that are also sometimes called semi-cleavers?)

Seems like www.hillmarine.com and www.chadhillpropellers.com have not been working for a while...

Ron Hill
01-10-2003, 03:14 PM
FYI:

I'm a school teacher and have been for 37 years. I teach Junior High. I get good benefits, good retirement and fair pay. I've always loved boat racing and especially propellers. I've actually made money selling propellers.

In 1989, my wife and I had a new baby and she didn't want to work at a prop shop. So, we basically got out of the business. I took on a part time job at the Junior college besides my day job..

About 1975, Chad Hill, my son, wanted to go racing in a little more style than he'd been racing in. I told him to start a prop shop and with my help we could afford to go racing.

In 1977 we formed a team with Jim Hauenstein and Arcadian Motor Sports. The team lasted one race. It basically ended with Jim's death. Chad was 19 at the time and I felt maybe he was living through me. I backed away from propellers.

Chad did get his own Formula One boat two years ago, but with finishing college and working props he had little time to race.