PDA

View Full Version : filling guage holes

patchesII
01-06-2003, 10:11 PM
when filling guage holes can you put the gelcoat on top of the repair. how hard is it to match. got gauge holes, holes in the transom and in the splashwell area that i amfilling. trying not to paint the whole boat just to cover these holes. thanks

FCnLa
01-07-2003, 02:28 AM
What color is it? You can use patch-aid (only if a solid color) or duratec clear mixed with the gel.

What are you filling the holes with?

patchesII
01-07-2003, 07:14 AM
so far i've just backed the holes with glass. was going to fill them with resin and cloth, but i'm all ears. thanks, erik

Reese
01-07-2003, 01:16 PM
I’m no expert on gel coats, (only use paint), but I just finished filling 6 gauge holes in my boat. I also backed each hole with fiberglass but used short strand kitty hair to fill each hole and sand to a smooth finish.

Filling each hole with fiberglass is too time consuming and getting it to sand out nicely can be difficult…fiberglass bondo just makes the process go a lot faster.

vector mike
01-07-2003, 04:01 PM
I cut out pieces of plywood the same thickness as what is already there and put them in the holes and then filled in around them with polyester resin and fiberglass.

Bruster
01-07-2003, 05:01 PM
with all of the extra holes I have in the dash of my Taylor that I would fit the dash area with a piece of 12 GA. aluminium. I will use the existing holes that I need and simply fill the holes I don't need with plywood fillers and West System Epoxy. To finish the aluminium I was thinking of running the panel thru a linear sander so I have sanding scratches in 1 direction and black anodizing. Attachment will be with a dozen or so Stainless screws neatly placed around the edges. No jel coat, no mess, and it will look great. Sorry this won't help with your other holes.

Techno
01-07-2003, 07:34 PM