PDA

View Full Version : Polish prop...or not

Wile E. Coyote
12-14-2002, 07:30 PM
A buddy of mine and I were sittin around and complaining bout how nasty my prop looked, and I said yea i'll get it polished up eventually and thus ensued the great debate I'll bring here now...OK racers OPINIONS WANTED In a drag set up two schools of thought. Polish the prop so it spins freely to rev quicker (theory) or leave it with the rough surface supplied by mercury so it gets more "bite" or "traction" to the water (other theory). I liken it to the same debate as polishing/roughening intake runners or velocity stacks to smooth/disrupt air fuel delivery however not being an expert I was just looking for any and all input, or I could just be completly insane with way too much free time. Thoughts????

Jay Smith
12-15-2002, 01:56 AM
Mr. Wile,

I always liked the satin finish, I felt it bit harder, no facts to back it up just a theroy !And most agree that the bottom of a boat should be a satin finisn and sanded with 400 grit sandpaper , you would think the more polished ( shiney )a bottom the faster but thats not the case thats why I used the satin finish on the props. I have seen props in the past that was polished to chrome all over but 1" at the entire lenth of the end of the blade and it was bead blasted ! Go figure !:)

Fl Boy in ILL
12-15-2002, 03:03 AM
I have a couple Tillman props and they are polished, I heared he says he can see flaws or cracks easier and quicker with a shiney finish and thats the way he likes to do them, I guess thats one train of thought.

Rick

CompKing
12-15-2002, 03:02 PM
I just talked to John at DAH about a prop he's building for me.He likes to polish so any cracks will be easier to see.The differance in perfomance would be small but the safety factor in seeing a crack could be priceless.He said for the amount of time it takes if he didn't think it was important he wouldn't do it.

Wile E. Coyote
12-15-2002, 07:08 PM