PDA

View Full Version : small repair./ best thing to do?

spanky2002
11-28-2002, 04:26 AM
for the last few months or so i had been getting water in the boat. i first thought it was a leaking live well, only to discover i have a small crack in the bottom of the boat. i noticed small stress cracks where the boat sits on the outside runner. i then lifted the hull to see about a 1 inch crack in the gel coat. it didn't look like it was bad enough to take in water but it was. i filled the boat with water and i had a slow drip from this crack. so what do i do? do i sand away the cracked area and fill it with resin and then paint it or put a put a gel coat finish on it? i am trying to find the easiest but yet best thing to do while on my back. i don't have the equipment to flip her over.

bulldogdaddy
11-28-2002, 07:03 AM
believe me,i'm new at the resto,repair work,but nothing ever seems easy doing this,but from what i've been told and reading,if you have a crack in the bottom,it might be in the glass to.if it is you'll need to get down to the glass and bevel the edge so the new glass can adhere to it.anyone with experiance correct me if i'm wrong!also are you sure that the transome is'nt leaking?

Rickracer
11-28-2002, 09:15 AM
....for at least 2 to 3 inches on either side of the crack. Not having worked with gelcoat, I usually try to find some paint that is really close to the color of the gelcoat to seal and finish the repair. The bad news is that you need to do a repair on the inside too. :eek:

Jacob
11-28-2002, 03:05 PM