PDA

View Full Version : Yamaha Sterndrive Prop Choice?

HTX
09-30-2010, 09:22 PM
First off I am new to boating but always have been into working on anything mechanical.

I have a 1991 Baja Islander 188, it had a 5.7 Yamaha stern drive unit in it with a cracked block. I have a built 305 vortec that I am putting into it in place of the 350. The 350 was rated at 260 hp, the 305 is set up for around 395 hp. The current prop is a Quicksilver unit 3 blade 14x21p.

What would be a good all around prop, for skiing, tubing and just playing on the lake. Fast is fun but want to get better economy more then all out top speed.

John.Vaught
10-01-2010, 07:37 PM
How is it running with the 21p now? RPM/SPEED/HOLESHOT Even if the 305 is making more hp it also needed to make you some torque too.

Welcome to S&F :cheers:

HTX
10-02-2010, 08:49 PM
Well I don't have the motor in the boat as of yet, just wondering if there is a good all around prop pitch. Figured I'd run it for a bit with the current prop before I changed it out.

I have been reading that for the type of boat I have I need to stay away from chopper and cleaver props as the boat will be too heavy to be able to use the properly.

John.Vaught
10-03-2010, 12:31 AM
I have tried an over hub 20p chopper on my boat and it's hell to get it to plane out.....once it did plane it accelerated well and had a lot of grip in turns but the hole shot kills it on my boat. I would venture to say that if it was very rough out you would be screwed however it backed up better than any prop I have tried on my boat.

There are some really experienced guys on here that really know props but you are going to have to give them a ton of information:

Boat Weight:

<TABLE style="MARGIN-LEFT: 10px; MARGIN-RIGHT: 20px"><TBODY><TR><TD>1991 188 Islander