PDA

View Full Version : Painting boat need some advice

bravo 1
08-19-2010, 11:48 AM
I am going to be be painting my 2800 sxob this fall and was wondering if there would be any problem painting the hull of the boat, problems like the paint coming off the bottom the boat will only be in hte water when I am using it and be stored in a heated and airconditioned shop. any tips or advice for types of paint and primer that you have had the best results with would be great.

Thanks

keomotorsports
08-21-2010, 10:25 AM
I have been painting boats for about fifteen years. Awl grip in my opinion is one of the best when used with there 545 primer. I have never seen it peel. But you must follow the directions light coats not going for full coverage on the first coat or even second waiting 20 min or even a little longer between coats it is very thin when mixed and will run like crazy if you dont follow the directions. There is no wet sanding or clear coating spray it and your done. A nice hard finish difficult to scratch. Dupont also has a new line of paint called NASON. I have been working with a little and like it alot very easy to spray lots of colors but I havent painted a hull with it yet. Check the NASON out to. Good luck :thumbsup:

bravo 1
08-22-2010, 10:01 PM
Keomotorsports, thanks for the reply have you ever heard of people using automotive paints such as PPG and if so what kind of results have you heard of

keomotorsports
08-23-2010, 06:48 PM
yes you can use PPG I would use what ever there recomended primer is for what ever top coat you use. I recently painted a old 28 midnight express with martin seymor auto paint from napa came out great. Since your boat does not spend a whole lot of time in the water that also helps keeping the finish nice. Just remember your prep work is everything.. You can have the best painter in the world spray it if your prep and prime job sucks so will your finish. Take your time.

rchevelle71
08-23-2010, 07:30 PM
Yup,