PDA

View Full Version : WetSanding

Mastercraft241
08-06-2010, 10:08 PM
Im extremly new to wetsanding. I was told to get 2000 grit and it would restore the shine great. I've been following that with microcompound on a whool pad followed by finnesse-it on a grey foam pad. So far, its been "shinning" it up, but it hasnt been getting the scratches out as well as I'd like. If anyone can give some good pointers, like how to sand it (side to side, circles), when you've done enough sanding, wait to apply micro compound?, and would it be safe to go to 1500 grit? Here's a shot of a little spot I did today. I literally did both sides from the gunnel back. Didn't take long either, probably an hour or so.

samari
08-06-2010, 11:47 PM
I have done a couple of my own boats both gel and paint but I'm far from a expert but you will be fine with 1500. If it's gel you should be fine with 1000 then work your way up.

Ted Stryker
08-09-2010, 04:54 PM