PDA

View Full Version : Buffing clearcoat

Burke Kilgour
09-03-2002, 10:14 PM
I just clearcoated my AE-21 on sunday and it turned out really well, with one hitch. The whole boat is perfect except for the bow center (the area I wanted PERFECT).
I laid down the clear pretty heavy in this area and ended up with some "solvent popping" in the finish. Small tiny, tiny bubbles on the surface, almost on top of the clearcoat.
I've heard of this and have never had it happen before.
I'd like some tips on polishing DuPont ChromaClear 8500s please.
I can see the clear is really thick in this area, and the bubbles are on the top, so I just have to polish it down a very small amount.
I've never tried this before and don't want to f*** it up.
I bought a 2 speed polisher, I just need the "tried and true" ideas for buffing pads, compounds, speeds and what NOT to do.
I'll try to take some digital pictures, but the bubbles are so small that I don't think they'll show up.

Thanks,
Burke

vector mike
09-04-2002, 07:44 AM
I've removed "orange peal" before by wet sanding and then buffing afterwards. I'm sure this would get rid of the bubbles if they are not too deep.

lorax
09-04-2002, 08:44 AM
I've used 2000 grit paper to nub sand defects like the ones your describing. The book I've used as a reference says that very fine grit paper is a much more controllable way to remove paint(clearcoat) than buffing.

Check out the link to this thread. http://forums.screamandfly.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=15998

I'm no authority but the guy who responded to my post clearly is. Maybe you can drop him a line.

Techno
09-04-2002, 03:14 PM
Go here and post your question. You could go through the archives but you mentioned solvent pop so it may be more than just a buff thing.
Depending on whether or not your clear is cured and how much orange peel, you need to use pretty rough paper. Not 2,000 but maybe 800. They'll spell it out though, good site.

http://www.autobodystore.com/cgi-bin/config.pl?index