PDA

View Full Version : Jackplate

Mickdund
08-26-2002, 08:41 PM
I'm fixing to install a jackplate with a 8" setback,the question is do you have to lengthen your control cables and your steering cables,or does it really depend on your set-up,my boat is in the shop having the transom repaired,so I haven't had a chance to measure for the extra 8".I was just wondering if it is a general rule of thumb when installing a jackplate to lengthen your cables.

Barefoot Bob
08-26-2002, 09:23 PM
Im not an expert, but I didnt have to on my Baja Fish & Ski when I added mine ;)

vector mike
08-27-2002, 04:54 AM
Usually you have enough slack in them to not have to get longer ones but all you can do is try it.

Mickdund
08-27-2002, 11:37 AM
Thanx Bob and Mike for the info.That is what I was hoping to hear.

Rich Matyskiel
08-28-2002, 01:10 PM
I had to get longer steering cables for my checkmate. The cables came out of the side of the splashwell close to the motor. With the setback, I had to cut a new hole in the transom (through the top deck section) Then they were a couple of inches too short. I'm still waiting for mine to come in.

Barefoot Bob
08-28-2002, 03:19 PM
That was exactly what happened to me on my Baja. I just used a saw to open up the hole a bit farther back for the steering cables. The thing I didnt like was the small bind I had in the steering from the tight bend in the cables. And I didnt really want to hack the boat up with a new hole. So there is another way around all of this. And that is to go with the Sea Star Pro series hydraulic steering. Then you just have hoses, and is it nice to steer. I have it installed now. Although I am $900.00 poorer.:cool:

84exciter
09-01-2002, 10:17 PM
Rickracer can get it cheaper than $900:eek: /

Barefoot Bob
09-01-2002, 10:21 PM
I sure wish I would have known Rick Before I picked mine up. He could have helped me with alot of problems I am having. It seems he has all the answers.:)

84exciter
09-01-2002, 10:24 PM