PDA

View Full Version : Canon or Nikon SLR?? Recommendations?

cutwater
04-30-2009, 05:54 PM
From what I've read here, ost pros prefer Nikons....but here's what I'm looking at -

What to upgrade from a 6+ year old Fuji S602z, which was a great "prosumer" model BEFORE digital SLRs...so I think it's more of a superzoom.

I'm looking at the Canon XSi or the newer Nikon D90. D90 is better for sure, but going from a superzoom to SLR, would I appreciate the difference?? I'm not a pro photographer. And the D90 is signicantly more $$.

For less than the D90 kit, I can get the XSi kit with 18-55mm lens and add the 55-250mm zoom.

I mostly shoot boats, SNF style and antiques, both static and in motion. Plus muscle cars at shows, and of course, family, local wildlife, etc.

So the question is: XSi and extra lens or D90 and std kit lens......

Appreciate any thoughts....

Liquid
04-30-2009, 06:26 PM
I just got a rebel xsi for christmas, told the wife what i wanted and she got me the canon, i have to say im very pleased with it, what sold her was the continueous shooting abilitys, she know i mostly shoot boats also. this will take like 3 shots per second continuous.

My2 cents

JIM

Casey
04-30-2009, 09:43 PM
Both are great cameras and you really can't go wrong with either. Put them both in your hands and see which one you like better

pyro
05-01-2009, 05:15 AM
You get what you pay for. :D

cutwater
05-02-2009, 05:39 PM
Thanks guys, appreciate the input.

Pyro, didn't someone on here say that any decent camera body is good, and to invest more in the lenses? Or is the D90 really that much better technologically speaking??

jmc
05-03-2009, 01:30 AM