PDA

View Full Version : Ski Jet in boat

cmbracer
07-25-2002, 05:19 AM
Hi Guys

I am new to the "big" boat scene... Been racing rc boats for years, but now I really wan't to be aboard:D

Here in Denmark everything is rediqulars expencive(tax). This forces us to think up new/different ways of powering say a boat.
A little ex. on the expencive thing: An optimax 225 will set you back roughly $20.000... how do you like them aples
:mad:

My thought is this:
A wrecked jetski donates it's jetunit to my hull(hull being made this winter, if everything goes as planned)hull 14" V no steps, 20 dg. deadrise, very light weight. Am aiming at 200 pounds for the hull.
A Suzuki TL 1000 donates it's engine(bought in Italy, wrecked motorbike) 132 hp. 200 pound including electronics and cooling.
Have no idea about the weight of the jet, which must have the reverse bucket.
But let's say 100 pounds.
Total of 500 Lbs. Which more than likely will be 700 Lbs befor you can say: Race
:)

My question is, do you guys find this project stupid, not worth while.
Will the jet be able to push the boat(am hoping to reach a nice top speed, 50-60 mph, combined with good acceleration)
Does a ski jet "suck" compared to a "real" jet??
Can anybody give me sites to find prices on jetdrives and outbords??

Thanks for your time

Morten

halveb
07-29-2002, 12:40 PM
All I can say is you are most certainly pioneering. Most of the regular jet boats run a big block V8 engine and the saying is there is no replacement for displacement.

Do you know how much a jet ski weights and how does that weight compare to the projected finished weight of your project