PDA

View Full Version : Mercury bashing in my area

hydrostream1
03-23-2008, 07:51 PM
Yesterday I had to get towed because of an alternator failure(no charge,battery dead)The towboat US driver said,Blew it up huh?I said nope,Just a dead battery,he says,I love towing mercurys,they make me money.What the hell is up with that?I live in the NC,SC area.I was running the boat near georgetown,sc.Seams everyone is on a yamaha kick around here.I see a few allison,stv owners.But alot of yamahas.I really like what mercury is doing with their products,especially Verado and optimax.Yamaha might be great now but wait til those four strokes get old and out of warranty.Yamaha has had their share of problems it just doesn`t get publized.I am a marine tech and I know others at dealerships around the area,They said the HPDI was a mistake,what a POS!They said they have seen powerhead failures(Rods through the block),Dropping oil out of it etc.Parts are through the damn roof.We all need to support the american economy and jobs,yes I know germany helped design the verado(Porsche),,But give Merc a chance.I know the earlier optis were a POS but,so are alot of early designs of other products.I had a yamaha raptor ATV and nothing but problems(first year design)Transmission gears exploded,starter failure and drive gear,bad shocks etc.I think alot of problems with outboards and sterndrives is lack of maintenence (such as water in the fuel)No#1 problem,overheat,warning horns disconnected etc,then blame the engine.Stupidity on the owners part.Oh, it just blew up,man there is a reason why it blew up,I see rusted crank journals all the time,eats bearings up then the rod goes through the case or block.I like when the cust says only got 100 hours on it and its a 04!Yea,I`m thinking I wonder how the inside of the motor looks.Or just rebuilt,yea, A set of rings or one new piston.I guess I am on a rant but I hate Ignorance.

flabum1017
03-23-2008, 07:59 PM