PDA

View Full Version : Rebuiding seats... what to seal them with?

JimG
06-10-2002, 05:02 PM
I'm rebuilding the back seat in my virage and noticed that the old rotten wood has some type of sealer on it. What is this? Some people say its fiberglass, others say some type of varnish but I have no idea. I'm a novice boater so some specifics on applying this stuff and exactly what type of coating this is would be great. Thanks, Jim

RONNIE
06-10-2002, 05:40 PM
use West system epoxy James

Rickracer
06-10-2002, 05:54 PM
I laminated them with a layer of glass cloth rolled out very wet, and they have already outlasted the PT wood that I used before, and still look like new. May not be the best way, but it worked well for me. :cool:

pyro
06-10-2002, 06:23 PM
Visit www.rotdoctor.com

Buy a 2 quart kit of their CPES (Clear Penetrating epoxy Sealer) resin. This stuff is almost water-thin, it's a special blend of solvents and resins with some chemicals derived from tree sap among other things. It comes in two cans, part A and part B, they are mixed 50/50. I swear by the stuff. It soaks all the way through the wood. Once treated, the wood will never rot.

It doesn't matter what you COAT the wood with, once the moisture finds its way in, it will still rot. Once it's treated with CPES, you don't have to coat it with anything.

If you have an area that's starting to flex and get soft, Soak the hell out of it with this resin, do it twice, 24 hrs. between. It will be harder that new. The stuff is expensive, and it will give you a mild buzz and headache, but it's worth it.

I did all my seat frames in my Vegas XT with it. Now they are preserved forever.

They did a lab test with the stuff, they took a long 4x4 balsa log and bored a hole halfway into the side, and poured it in the hole. They did this with every similar product on the market. CPES traveled 18 inches through the wood grain. The next best product did 4 inches, from what i recall. GET SOME.

-Chad

Rickracer