PDA

View Full Version : 150 Opti hop-ups?

RikuY
04-25-2007, 09:24 AM
Hello!
I am looking at a 18' Action with 150 Opti on it. It's a 2002 model and am wondering if there are any sources for hopping this motor up in the future?
I am new to the action hull and it already rips for a 150, but once I get used to it, I would like to add power.

What is available for this motor? I believe it's the 2.5 V6, and am looking for wise words on the options.

I guess if worse comes to worse, I will need to switch to a proper 2.5 for more power. Will this be a direct switch over? The Smartcraft is not hooked up.

Any other words of wisdom will be well received by me. Thanks in advance...

Stinky
04-25-2007, 11:37 AM
Not legal to "hop up" an emissions motor.

Even if you did, how would you re-cal for the increased HP?

:cool:

blkmtrfan
04-25-2007, 11:45 AM
how would you re-cal for the increased HP?

I am sure you could do it :p

RikuY
04-25-2007, 12:59 PM
I didn't know about the legality issue. Thanks.

So, would the switch-over to a proper 2.5 down the road be simple?

hsbob
04-25-2007, 04:37 PM
should be remove and replace.

150aintenuff
04-25-2007, 11:13 PM
Not legal to "hop up" an emissions motor.

Even if you did, how would you re-cal for the increased HP?

yea so what... how do they test the emmissions..... they CAN'T.... and as far as recal... there aint much different from the 150 to the 200XS.... so there is atleast 200 hp in that block waiting to come out.... but as far as a drop on.. carbs would be easiest.... just un plug harness and install drop on.... just make sure its complete... with the electronics and you will be good to go..
or get a 280 complete motor and call it good...

Stinky
04-26-2007, 07:18 AM
yea so what... ..

Better to be silent and thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.

:rolleyes: ;) :)

Fish
04-26-2007, 07:25 AM
:) :) :) :) :)

RikuY
04-26-2007, 08:05 AM