PDA

View Full Version : Looking for aqua racer plans

KG4
04-16-2007, 02:26 PM
Looking for some plans for an old school tunnel.I know of one called the aqua racer it kind of looked like an old molinari.My cousin built one in the 70s.Also,What about the glen l tunnel king.Anyone have experiance with that hull?Thanks guys.VINTAGE FOREVER.:D

Hottrucks
04-16-2007, 02:39 PM
do a search I was going to do one a year or so ago and started a post on them. I forget the name but it's here some where...the origanal plan came from a Popular mechanics mag.....

David - WI
04-16-2007, 02:47 PM
Like this one from Mechanix Illustrated?
http://www.svensons.com/boat/?p=MechanixIllustrated/AquaRacer

KG4
04-16-2007, 03:06 PM
Thats the one,Thanks a ton.I have never built a boat before.Do you guys know of anyone that could build that hull for me if i got the plans?Thanks again,I really appreciate it.

David - WI
04-16-2007, 03:39 PM
There's a guy (maybe the same guy) selling plans on CD on E-bay... and he has some photos of a small hydro(?) under construction. Aqua Racer is listed:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250103947664

I think I would just order the plans for $15 and see how tough the project looks after you look them over.

Raceman
04-16-2007, 05:35 PM
The yellow boat on the plans link is the MiniMost. My Dad and I built one when I was a kid and it's a GREAT toy for kids. Like the ad says, it'll run 30+ with a 10 horse motor, will slide all around and would be very hard to roll, although it can be swamped.

As far as the tunnel shown there, it looks like early 70's or maybe even late 60's technology. If you're froggy to build a real tunnel I'd go and take some super accurate measurements and pictures of something more current and build from there. I think that old one in the plans would be a blowover risk at anything over 60 MPH.

Mark75H
04-16-2007, 05:45 PM
I think that old one in the plans would be a blowover risk at anything over 60 MPH.