PDA

View Full Version : Hull Blueprinting/Bottom Truing

croSSed
03-25-2007, 02:05 PM
I used the search function for this one. There are a lot of threads where people have done this or are doing this, but I can't find any resources on how to actually do this. Can someone point me in this direction? A couple of questions: Is it possible to true a bottom with it on the trailer, not upside down? I suppose it would be if you didn't have to add any material, just sand it away. If you sand and break the gelcoat glaze on a boat bottom, does it make the boat faster? I have some experience with porting heads on high-po street cars. You don't want your ports to be too smooth or ports actually become kind of "sticky", slowing the air/fuel mixture down the port. I'm thinking the same thing is true of a boat bottom: a super smooth bottom would actually be kind of sticky on the water, where a slightly roughed up surface would be more slippery. Thoughts? Thanks for any insight!

TG

staylor
03-25-2007, 04:22 PM