PDA

View Full Version : Jackplates and a few other questions

JSB5776
04-14-2002, 09:37 PM
OK guys... by some fortunate... or possibly unfortunate (if you actually saw it) twists of fate... Ive come across an 80's 16' checkmate predictor... interior destroyed... It was left uncovered for 4 years... but the Hull seems solid... and a 1996 150 HP merc black max with a cracked piston.... and in a little transferrance of aluminum on to the walls in another cylinder... So I guess what Im saying is that I would eventually like to mate these two currently non fuctioning pieces in to a fast little boat... Im completely new to the outboard world... but have been boating for years... So I would like to ask you guys a few questions... First... the predictor is rated to 125 HP... but everyone I ask says that the 150 will be fine... just dont hammer the starts all the time... Will the 150 be too much for it??? Second... what do Jackplates do??? and do I need one... It seems everyone is running one??? would one be benneficial in my case... and third... Does anyone have any info on predictors??? history, weight, or just anything interesting on this model that I would like to know??? I do searches for predictors... and all I really ever get is a classified on someone selling a 22' predictor... but very little on the 16's... Ok two more questions... What does it mean to "Blueprint" a hull??? Ive read some threads about flipping the hull over and blueprinting it??? what do you actually do to it??? and finally... Can anyone give me an estimate of an approximate top end with the 150 on it??? Thanks for all your help... and Im glad to be stepping over to the performance outboard side of this hobby...

Jeff
Saratoga Springs NY

pyro
04-17-2002, 09:03 AM
Welcome!

Nobody else replied, so I did to put your thread at the top...