PDA

View Full Version : Shooting fast moving objects

Backfire
10-18-2006, 09:35 AM
Question for Greg, Maureen, and anybody else. When using your Nikons are you using auto focus or manual focus? I have been using a Minolta 7000 Maxum for 20 years and the A/F is not quick enough to use it so I manually focus so there is no delay when I push the button. I'm talking 80-200 mph shots, not the usual snapshots. It would be handy to be able to have 3 fps with a different focus for each. Now that Sony has bought K/M and brought out a new A100 that takes Minolta A/F glass, I don't know if they changed the the speed capability of A/F. I would like to stay in the family, but would like the ability to compose with the 70-300 at the start line and 150-500'+ out and keep it crisp. Trouble never happens at a predetermined spot.
Backfire ;)

jphii
10-18-2006, 09:38 AM
I shot about 1000 pictures at Jasper, all in AF. Some came out pretty good. A couple are really good.

Scream And Fly
10-18-2006, 01:37 PM
Most pros use autofocus these days. AF systems have come a very long way since your Maxxum 7000. I remember my dad had one of those - but I never used it (was too young and he would never let me touch it :)). Anyway, I am not a fan of the Mintolta lens system and the Sony A100 is well, not a very good camera compared to similar Canon and Nikon models.

Anyway, autofocus is a tool, not the answer. It's like a dremel - if you know what you're doing with it, you'll achieve great results. Autofocus performance depends on many factors - lens, available light, AF system, and of course, the photographer. That's a very long discussion, but I'll answer any specific questions.

Sometimes I manually focus or I'll lock my focus, but it all depends on the situation.

Greg

specboatops
10-18-2006, 01:46 PM
Ops, Thought This Was About Gun Shooting, Was Gunna Talk About Lead Time, My Bad

pyro
10-18-2006, 03:53 PM