PDA

View Full Version : 300HP GT Johnson Outboard

928man
08-22-2006, 07:12 PM
I'm new to the cat boats, how do the Talon's with the 300HP GT Johnson engines rate? I see all mercury engines on most boats. Is the Talon a good hull, and what sizes were made? Looking to buy a 21 to 24 ft boat.Any help appreciated. 928man current ordinary cuddy running slow.

150aintenuff
08-23-2006, 08:43 PM
talons are good boats, fast and very capible... the 300 johny is a respectible powerhead, BUT its heavy, and the gearcases are an extreemly weak link and most of their parts are rare or NLA at best.... if you were to get the hull get it cheap with power and look to repower with a 300 merc. the weight savings and the added power will gain you about 10 -15 MPH.... a 300 johnny is only about 275hp on its best day in stock form.. but they can be built up to 400+ fairly easioly if you want to spend the dough..

928man
08-24-2006, 01:01 AM
When you say the gearcases are weak, you mean the gears in motor? I thought parts were available for Johnson? I noticed 24ft hulls are much larger than 21-22ft size, a better buy for larger hull even if motor is bad verses smaller hull with decent motor? I see names like skater,sanger,talon,eliminator, any advice? Advice which better to buy? I want large enough boat for fast cruising & a few speed runs.

FJ COSTA
09-12-2006, 07:05 PM
I had a talon 21 I try every motor on the market the v8 johnson are too heavy the only way to go is black Merc,TALON :cool: boats are not the fastes but they ride good, the best.FJ.

Fish
09-12-2006, 07:31 PM
Around the size range they made a 18, 21, 22. All are different. Skip ran his 18 with a mildly built up 200 up to about 92 mph, but put the boat on a serious diet. I believe the next owner, WOT racing did even better after some engine mods but I do not know exactly how much.