PDA

View Full Version : newbee wiring question

sanjoman
07-02-2006, 03:37 PM
First off I am not an electrician by any means, I have never rewired a boat and dont really know what I am doing, so please bear with me. I have a 16 foot aluminum boat that was in dire need of having the floor boards pulled replaced and recarpeted, all which I had never done but it came out sweet :D. In the process I decided to redo all of the nasty broken wire that was in the bottom of the boat. Here is my problem (at least one of them LOL) I havent got a clue. At the back of the boat is a power strip with jumpers in it. it is a strip with pairs of screws going down. I understand I can by pass this, and just run off the battery. I have switches (Lights etc). My thought was I could run a 14 gauge wire straight from the battery, to the top of the switch, then run a line from the bottom of the switch to the fuse box (buss side) another line from the non buss side of the fuse box directly to the light and walah I would have lights on when needed off when not. WRONG not dice no lights. Again I am not learned in this trade.
Can anyone help me on this project?
and I thought this was going to be easy :rolleyes:
thanks gang,
Dave

Fast Fred
07-03-2006, 04:14 AM
well not sure what your wirein, but got some DC tips for you,
you got to make a loop, no mater what, the pos comes from the batt, to the on, off swich, then to your what ever, lights , gauges, ect,... from your what ever, it goes back to ground on the batt. flip the swich loop is compleat.. light or what ever turns on. you follow?:cool:

Fish
07-03-2006, 04:37 AM
hey sanjoman, welcome to scream and fly. Here is a wiring color chart that might help too. It is basically the color codes for what goes to what on boats and trailers.

ShorePounder
07-03-2006, 01:14 PM