User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: A32 promax ecu?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    united states
    Posts
    380
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Given)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    A32 promax ecu?

    Were all the A32 promax ecu's a 6750 limiter? I have heard that some promax ecu's had a 6450 limiter or something like that were any of these A32's? If I give the number off my box (it's stock nobody's messed with it) can somebody tell me what limiter it has? I'm trying to set up my boat with a new prop and just want to make sure where my limiter is. Thanks, Cory
    Last edited by Coryc; 10-23-2017 at 07:09 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    FL / NY
    Posts
    7,810
    Thanks (Given)
    236
    Thanks (Received)
    196
    Likes (Given)
    3345
    Likes (Received)
    1150
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    2 ways to confirm what exactly what you have.
    A- put a small prop and spin it up...(only if it is ready to let loose/broken in)
    B- send it to Eric Simon while there have him put it through a complete check.
    Tony Brucato can check health but not limiter.
    Every OEM STOCK A32 box I have dealt with had a 6750 limiter. Not sure where the 6450 is coming into play?

    I suggest to prop that motor for a 6750.
    Prop wise (depending on boat weight, setup, engine height and LU) I think you will be in the 24 to 26 range.

    Once you have checked these things out if still confused or have concerns try to borrow a known box from a buddy or I can send you a box to try.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    united states
    Posts
    380
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Given)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm certain you are correct Tux. Mine is 6750. I just read somewhere else that some promax ecu not necessarily A32's had a lower limiter. I was just curious.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    houston, tx
    Posts
    1,264
    Thanks (Given)
    31
    Thanks (Received)
    42
    Likes (Given)
    164
    Likes (Received)
    180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I’m not certain I’d have to go look but I rember one of my pm clamps saying 6450 on it, I can’t recall off memory if it was the 200 ss pm clamp or the older 225 20” clamp I have.

    And on a pm you can’t just slap a small wheel on and see where it stops, you need at least a mid sized wheel.

    One of my good ecu’s lost an injector driver and I threw the bone stock original ecu on it to finish an event

    These ecu’s go fat on the big end to limit rpm, with a small wheel it will hit 74-7600 and a stock ecu and hold there if it’s accelerating hard enough it flys right past 6750 before it slows down, with a bigger wheel it stops at 67-800 on the recall.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    FL / NY
    Posts
    7,810
    Thanks (Given)
    236
    Thanks (Received)
    196
    Likes (Given)
    3345
    Likes (Received)
    1150
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Anything is possible especially the early motors but Im quite certain the stock OEM A32 was a 6750 box unless it was touched.
    Heck, I have had some that were set for 7500, 8200 and 8600.
    I would never suggest those R's unless the motors internally were built for those R's!!!

    200PM A8 box with 5petal front it would make sense.

    If you know your motor you will know/feel when it is near a limiter.
    My smaller wheel remark was to make sure it could be brought near that 6500ish area to see.
    At a certain point a motor will hit a wall/stop pulling.

    I would still prop for 6750 on that motor and work from there.

    This is JMPO and experience.

  6. Likes noli liked this post
  7. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Tourist Trap, Florida
    Posts
    6,556
    Thanks (Given)
    57
    Thanks (Received)
    184
    Likes (Given)
    632
    Likes (Received)
    1168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I run an A-11 and have run the A-8 on my semi stock 200 and have no problems going 6500r's. Can't feel any limiter or sluggishness at all. Have spun it close to 7k and still no limiter felt. Can these boxes malfunction and lose the limiter function? Also I was warned about the 32 boxes having some lean issues when doing a fast cruise speed like 4-5k. Fine under and over, but don't run it for long there?

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    united states
    Posts
    380
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Given)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I haven't heard that. From what I was told by a very knowledgable 225 member on here, he told me the A32 was the "latest and greatest" box mercury made for the 225pm. Im sure Tux has a ton of experience with that question.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    united states
    Posts
    380
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    6
    Likes (Given)
    5
    Likes (Received)
    18
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was told that the A12 was the lean box and was reflashed to an A17.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-06-2016, 09:49 PM
  2. Mercury ProMax 225 vs ProMax 225X. What are the differences?
    By stv1991 in forum Technical Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2012, 06:20 AM
  3. Top speed gain Promax 300X over Promax 300
    By Toffen in forum General Boating Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2004, 05:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •