Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Dual Tank Plumbing Question from Jet Boat Noob

I've been boating for about 10 years, and after starting with a Yamaha LS2000 twin jet boat, have had a couple I/O boats in between.

Just picked up a tricked out (ie mutilated) 73 Rally Sport Hombre turned hot-rod.

On our 1st time out yesterday, it ran OK at first, then started dying at about 2krpm, and finally would not stay running. We limped back by waiting a minute, after which it would start and run for about 30 seconds. repeated 8-10 times, then pushed with oars and boat hook lol.

Initially i thought it was a midrange jet problem on the Holley double-pumper, but then when it died altogether i suspect fuel starvation.

After I thought about it last night. here is m working theory:

The boat has twin tanks, one on each side. They appear to be plumbed with just a T fitting before the mechanical fuel pump on the olds 455. I filled one tank but not the other before going out. Awesomely cool dual fuel gauges don't seem to work.

So I'm now thinking the other tank was near empty, and when it got below the pickup it started sucking air, resulting in no draw from the other tank. I there EVER a case where a T fitting works with dual tanks? Doesn't make sense to me.

There are many things on this boat that make me think it was set up but never run. The place diverter trim cylinder disconnected from the arm on the short ride. The throttle pedal was set up with about 1" of travel 0-WOT (which I noticed and fixed before our 1st run)

Also, the fuel tank vents (or are they returns) are capped, which seems wrong as well. I understand in a boat these are normally vented to atmosphere.