Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

1986 baja sunsport 16' floor resto

Hi, I bought my first boat last year a 1986 baja sunsport 16' and noticed that the front seats (which i hadnt noticed till i bought it) were rotten.. it appears to be wood fiberglassed into the hull. I was planning on redoing this but am wondering, (as i have no experience at all) if i just fiberglass the new piece of plywood into the boat and no screwing at all is done? i have not ripped out all of the carpet yet just took a sample to buy some new pieces so i imagine i'll have a bit of an idea once i start ripping it out. i got to the floor of the boat and i know people talk about the floor being wood but it appears my floor is fiberglass? the whole floor feels solid but i just wanted to make sure since the wood in the front is rotten. if the floor feels solid is there any point to ripping it out?

to summarize:

is my floor likely wood with fiberglass over it? any way to check for it to be rotten without doing any damage? do i just fiberglass in the front wood seats?

sorry about the sporadic thoughts and bad layout of this thread.. i am exhausted right now! thanks!

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My '84 16 foot Baja had plywood in the floor, it was rotted near the back. It's only wood where the floor is level, glassed into the hull. If it's solid, leave it and just build new seat bases.......

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a054.jpg 
Views:	42 
Size:	413.6 KB 
ID:	320097

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	a078.jpg 
Views:	69 
Size:	377.4 KB 
ID:	320098
    "One of the penalties for refusing to participate in politics is that you end up being governed by your inferiors". Plato .

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged