User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    48
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Merc 260HP ignition problems

    My Mercury 260 high performance outboard is difficult to start. I am cranking 2-4 minutes with misfire and some time initial attempt to start. But after some time it seams to overcome the misfire and actual start and idle ok. however it wont run above 3000rpm with propeller engaged. My fuel pump is new and high flow 0.44 type with full tank. And pressure is also ok.
    The 3000 rpm limit I have struggled with some time and for that reason changed the stator. As I had measured a slight variation in resistance on the high speed side of the stator. Thought that was the problem but it was not.
    So I made a video of the spark pattern with a home made spark tester. And after stepping through the video with a 0,06 to 0,07 second interval I have observed the following pattern.

    It seams ok if I used ignition timer flash light. But to be quite out of order when looking on the video.
    I assume that it is my switchboxes that are the problem and not the trigger. But my question is if some one has seen some similar behaviour. And if you think that I am on right track replacing the switch boxs?

    note that there seams to be a pause between 6 and 1. and sometime fires on two same time.?????

    Video from Ipad video, ignition analytic by time:
    2,93second gives spark on 1
    3,00second gives spark on 2
    3,07second gives spark on 3
    3,13second gives spark on 4
    3,20second gives spark on 5
    3,27second gives spark on 6
    3,33second gives no spark
    3,40second gives spark on 1
    3,47second gives spark on 2
    3,53second gives spark on 3+4
    3,60second gives spark on 5
    3,67second gives spark on 6
    3,73second gives no spark
    3,80second gives spark on 1
    3,87second gives spark on 2
    3,93second gives spark on 3
    4,00second gives spark on 4+5
    4,07second gives spark on 6
    4,14second gives no spark
    4,20second gives spark on 1
    4,27second gives spark on 2
    4,33second gives spark on 3
    4,40second gives spark on 4
    4,47second gives spark on 5
    4,53second gives spark on 6
    4,60second gives spark on 1
    4,67second gives spark on 2
    4,73second gives spark on 3
    4,80second gives spark on 4
    4,87second gives spark on 5
    4,93second gives spark on 6
    5,00second gives no spark
    5,07second gives spark on 1+2
    5,13second gives spark on 3
    5,20second gives spark on 4
    5,27second gives spark on 5
    5,33second gives spark on 6
    5,40second gives no spark
    5,47second gives spark on 1
    And so on
    Last edited by A164; 04-09-2015 at 04:15 PM. Reason: adding more info

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    48
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Changed the switch boxs to the blue CDI 214-7778R2
    Ignition order seams better, still some difficult to start when Cold.
    So I pulled out the fuel injectors to see if they all gave fuel spray. And they did. Fuel filter is new and fuel pump was changed last year to type 044.

    Video of ignition test in slowmotion:

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    TX......somewhere?
    Posts
    4,458
    Thanks (Given)
    3
    Thanks (Received)
    56
    Likes (Given)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    is tha enrichner circuit still wired to tha starter solenoid?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    48
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Its wired like this diagram

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Merc260 wiering.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	290.6 KB 
ID:	318566

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    48
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok this is not an ignition question, but it is still the same problem i am solving.
    The Throttle position sensor on the left side of the engine has two connection studs for the hose. One says p1 and the other says p2 so the question is which one to connect to.
    The thing is that the service manual drawing shows that it is the left one. And I tryed to move it to the right one (p1) and the engine just starts. May be this is just a coencidensen as I have been trying starting it for some time. and it normal gets going after some time.
    Which connection stud is the righe one?
    Googled it on partnumber 17614A4 found nothing, searched by engine serial number. And found that it now is P/N 17814A11. still seams quite rear as it is few hits is find.
    Question do I actual need it? The Pictures I have seen on the internet, does not have it on?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC08016.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	423.3 KB 
ID:	318569Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC08017.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	339.6 KB 
ID:	318570Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC08019.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	395.0 KB 
ID:	318571
    Last edited by A164; 04-24-2015 at 02:55 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    6,393
    Thanks (Given)
    35
    Thanks (Received)
    26
    Likes (Given)
    32
    Likes (Received)
    124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by A164 View Post
    Question do I actual need it? The Pictures I have seen on the internet, does not have it on?
    If you have an analog ECU before A27, you need the external TPI.
    Markus' Performance Boating Links:
    www.toastedmarshmallow.com/performance

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    6,393
    Thanks (Given)
    35
    Thanks (Received)
    26
    Likes (Given)
    32
    Likes (Received)
    124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by A164 View Post
    My Mercury 260 high performance outboard is difficult to start. I am cranking 2-4 minutes with misfire and some time initial attempt to start. But after some time it seams to overcome the misfire and actual start and idle ok.
    I would guess that it is lean and that it takes a while for it to build up enough fuel so that there are some vapors that can be ignited and the engine start.

    The question about the enricher circuit is relevant - connect it to a button or the key switch push, so that you can enrich the engine when you want to.
    Markus' Performance Boating Links:
    www.toastedmarshmallow.com/performance

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    6,393
    Thanks (Given)
    35
    Thanks (Received)
    26
    Likes (Given)
    32
    Likes (Received)
    124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by A164 View Post
    however it wont run above 3000rpm with propeller engaged.
    I would guess that it is getting lean.

    Try a plug chop with fresh plugs when the engine does not want to go faster.

    If the plugs are dry, you need more fuel.

    If the plugs are wet, you don't have spark to burn the fuel.
    Markus' Performance Boating Links:
    www.toastedmarshmallow.com/performance

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    48
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks Markus
    its a A15
    do you know which connection the hose goes on to the TPI?
    Last edited by A164; 04-24-2015 at 03:59 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    TX......somewhere?
    Posts
    4,458
    Thanks (Given)
    3
    Thanks (Received)
    56
    Likes (Given)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    its all outdated.. if tpi IS bad you would be hard pressed ta find new or good used.. same with ecu.. same with ANY used ecu, analog or digital.. best thing ta do would dump all tha analog junk and up date ta digital or acu.. a really nice older motor (yours looks ta be that way) deserves it and not worth tha risk of tha older junk failin'......jmo

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    6,393
    Thanks (Given)
    35
    Thanks (Received)
    26
    Likes (Given)
    32
    Likes (Received)
    124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have an A17 ECU and TPI that were working when I took them off the engine.

    I was in Denmark today - just came home...
    Markus' Performance Boating Links:
    www.toastedmarshmallow.com/performance

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    48
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    tlwjkw, How many components do I need to change to make a upgrade?
    Its now equipped as follows:

    EFI box A15
    TPI 17614A4
    RPM limiter 86926A4
    ?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    TX......somewhere?
    Posts
    4,458
    Thanks (Given)
    3
    Thanks (Received)
    56
    Likes (Given)
    22
    Likes (Received)
    188
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    none of those three will be needed anymore....best ta go with acu unless ya find a good digital and it comes from someone that you have a lotta faith in....

    some say ya gotta change tha vacuum bib but I've never had that problem as long as I kept it clean.. that will be tha only thing ya might change.. your choice..

    tha tpi plug can stay but not needed...jus zip tie it up outta tha way.. Merc makes a "dummy plug" for it...

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Posts
    6,393
    Thanks (Given)
    35
    Thanks (Received)
    26
    Likes (Given)
    32
    Likes (Received)
    124
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you have the money to burn, get an ACU or PCU.

    If not, or you want to trouble shoot first, I can set you up with an A17, TPI and an analog ECU tester.
    Markus' Performance Boating Links:
    www.toastedmarshmallow.com/performance

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    48
    Thanks (Given)
    0
    Thanks (Received)
    1
    Likes (Given)
    3
    Likes (Received)
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tlwjkw, the inricher wire Yellow with red stripe is connected with Yellow with Black wire. So it S-holdet be connected with the shoke funktion On the key.

    Markus, I Think that it is geting to mutch fuel during start. Because i see flames in exthaust and also sometimes in horn. Its like it is slow burning the fuel therefore it sometimes backfires.
    and the new sparkplugs are wet during the start up attempt.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Strongback trailers - horizontal banner