Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Which Merc 2.5 to look for?

Hello, all. I'm new to this forum. I've been running big block Mercruisers for 20 years. Last weekend, the wife and I got tangled up in an Allison rally on the TN river near Clifton. I was mesmerized. Didn't take pics but there was a ridiculous row of Allisons lined up on the beach with 2.5 Merc after 2.5 Merc. I talked to a few guys running over 100 mph. They put on quite a show. Saw one guy in a river racer catch air and turn it upside down (he was uninjured, thankfully).
    Anyway, so I have a bit of the 2 stroke outboard fever now. I need to be educated on which 2.5 Merc to look for. One of the guys told me not to consider anything made after 2005. Please educate a Mercruiser guy in the intricacies of selection and what you guys do to these monsters.

Thanks for the help! I'm currently running a '89 Glastron 239 GX with Mercruiser racing 7.4 and Bravo 1. Beautiful boat, runs 80 but it's looking a little boring after getting sucked in to the Allison rally.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)